OrangeWhoopass.com Forums
General Discussion => Talk Zone => Topic started by: Navin R Johnson on March 31, 2018, 10:22:53 am
-
The 2 I seem to misunderstand the most were on display last night. Replay and bases awarded on a ball thrown out of play.
I thought a ball thrown out of play meant 2 bases, Altuve was on second when the ball went in the dugout, but was only given third.
Replays I’m just lost. I thought you got 1/2, yet somehow Bannister lost three of them.
-
They ruled that Altuve had not yet established second base when the throw was made, so his two bases were second and third.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
-
They ruled that Altuve had not yet established second base when the throw was made, so his two bases were second and third.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
If that was the ruling, then that is crap.
Altuve on 2nd, ball in stink's hand, then the horrendous throw was made into the hallway of the home dugout.
-
If that was the ruling, then that is crap.
Altuve on 2nd, ball in stink's hand, then the horrendous throw was made into the hallway of the home dugout.
I think the replay showed Altuve had not yet established 2B when Odor threw the ball. I saw that as the correct ruling. That Banister was allowed to challenge that is the mystery. He had already unsuccessfully challenged Altuve’s hit. I can only assume that he merely “suggested” a crew chief’s review based on the rule, not a challenge of the play. But that’s not how it was explained. Hunch said after the game that he never got an answer from the umpire on what went down, only that Altuve was being sent back to 3B.
-
So the rule is where the runner is when the fielder throws the ball, not where the runner is when the ball actually goes out of play?
-
So the rule is where the runner is when the fielder throws the ball, not where the runner is when the ball actually goes out of play?
Correct. If it's the first throw after the ball is batted, it's from the base occupied at the time of the pitch. If it's any subsequent throw (such as yesterday), it's from the last base legally occupied at the time the throw is made.
-
I think the replay showed Altuve had not yet established 2B when Odor threw the ball. I saw that as the correct ruling. That Banister was allowed to challenge that is the mystery. He had already unsuccessfully challenged Altuve’s hit. I can only assume that he merely “suggested” a crew chief’s review based on the rule, not a challenge of the play. But that’s not how it was explained. Hunch said after the game that he never got an answer from the umpire on what went down, only that Altuve was being sent back to 3B.
I could not possibly disagree more. He was at second before Odor threw. One from the mound, two from the field is the rule, which the third base ump correctly applied.
-
I could not possibly disagree more. He was at second before Odor threw. One from the mound, two from the field is the rule, which the third base ump correctly applied.
Jim I remembered it that way as well, but if you go watch the replay Altuve hadn’t touched 2nd when Odor releases the throw.
-
Jim I remembered it that way as well, but if you go watch the replay Altuve hadn’t touched 2nd when Odor releases the throw.
Ok, if you say so, I believe you (and HH). I have not seen a replay.
-
I think this will link you to the replay.
https://www.mlb.com/astros/video/bregman-reaches-on-error/c-1899930483
-
I think this will link you to the replay.
https://www.mlb.com/astros/video/bregman-reaches-on-error/c-1899930483
Live I thought Altuve was on the bag too, but on the replay, it's pretty clear he hadn't reached the bag yet. I think that was the right call...other than the challenge in the first place.
-
Live I thought Altuve was on the bag too, but on the replay, it's pretty clear he hadn't reached the bag yet. I think that was the right call...other than the challenge in the first place.
Agreed